Home | News | Downloads | Projects | Articles | Awards | Forums | Chat | Guestbook | About | Arcade
InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
Join the millions that use us for their forum communities. Create your own forum today.
Learn More · Sign-up for Free



Forum Topics Replies Last Post Info
Older topics
Here you can access all topics posted from May 12th 2005 to Apr 9th 2006 (In read only mode).
1126 15694 9 Apr, 2006, 11:06
In: Last Post[GAME]Learn how to count to...
By: DJ Omnimaga
 

  post

 (edit: resolved) Dynamic IP refuses to renew, DSL
grendel
  Posted: 31 Dec, 2007, 16:27


Ultimate Member


Group: Members
Posts: 227
Member No.: 3836
Joined: 31 Oct, 2007



Alright, so my IP has been static for months now. It absolutely refuses to renew, even though I'm positively, absolutely sure it's a dynamic address. This has never happened to me before. I've manaully tried releasing and renewing it, renewing it through the router interface, shutting down the router every single night, etc. It just won't renew.

Help?

This post has been edited by grendel on 31 Dec, 2007, 17:12


--------------------
user posted image user posted image
Top
bfr
Posted: 31 Dec, 2007, 16:47


Post whore


Group: Coders Of Tomorrow
Posts: 872
Member No.: 31
Joined: 12 Apr, 2006



While I'm not exactly an IP expert...

Why do you need your IP address to be dynamic, if you don't mind me asking? I don't think this should be anything to worry about, unless you're trying to...uh...evade IP bans or something without using a proxy.

Although you probably aren't...just in case...you aren't confusing this with your network interface card address, are you?

This post has been edited by bfr on 31 Dec, 2007, 16:54


--------------------
[URL=http://bfr.tifreakware.net]My Website[/URL] - [URL=http://bfr.18.forumer.com]My Forums[/URL] - [URL=http://bfr.tifreakware.net/badips.php]Submit IP Addresses of Spambots and Troublemakers[/URL]

2B || !2B
Top
grendel
Posted: 31 Dec, 2007, 17:12


Ultimate Member


Group: Members
Posts: 227
Member No.: 3836
Joined: 31 Oct, 2007



QUOTE (bfr @ 31 Dec, 2007, 16:47)
Why do you need your IP address to be dynamic

Reasons I can't discuss here.

Nevermind, though. I called and found out that my ISP had purposefully done it, and now I'm considering terminating my services and moving to someting that respects my right to privacy. dry.gif


--------------------
user posted image user posted image
Top
dinhotheone
Posted: 31 Dec, 2007, 18:10


Extreme Poster


Group: Members
Posts: 378
Member No.: 236
Joined: 11 Nov, 2006



idk what the situacion is, but portfoward.com says you need a static IP to setup prot fowarding. they may be trying to help noobs who cant do it themselves by giving you a stitic ip off the bat. thats the only legitamate reason i can see for them giving you a static ip...but then again, ive never heard of this before.


--------------------
Soccer is life
domination of omnimaga, click below
http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/8868/dominationrc5.gif
Top
grendel
Posted: 31 Dec, 2007, 21:16


Ultimate Member


Group: Members
Posts: 227
Member No.: 3836
Joined: 31 Oct, 2007



No, my ISP is simply perverse. I called them earlier and put in a request to switch to a dynamic range, and they overturned it and refused to explain why.

Time to change providers.


--------------------
user posted image user posted image
Top
dinhotheone
Posted: 1 Jan, 2008, 0:27


Extreme Poster


Group: Members
Posts: 378
Member No.: 236
Joined: 11 Nov, 2006



that sucks, hope you have luck finding a new provider. i know in some areas theres not alot of options..


--------------------
Soccer is life
domination of omnimaga, click below
http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/8868/dominationrc5.gif
Top
DJ Omnimaga
Posted: 1 Jan, 2008, 0:59


Ragol666


Group: Founder
Posts: 11283
Member No.: 1
Joined: 9 Apr, 2006



i hope u can find a decent one too. Over here we're stuck with 2 isps wacko.gif, both have bandwidth caps dry.gif


--------------------
user posted image
Join us on IRC on #omnimaga at irc://unitedti.org!
user posted image
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
Create a free forum in seconds.
Learn More · Register for Free

Topic Options post





TI-Freakware's TI Ring
TI-Freakware's TI Ring
[ Join Now | Ring Hub | Random | << Prev | Next >> ]

Hosted for free by InvisionFree* (Terms of Use: Updated 2/10/2010) | Powered by Invision Power Board v1.3 Final © 2003 IPS, Inc.
Page creation time: 0.1066 seconds | Archive

Skin by xlibman and Jc
All programs and games are property of their respective owners.