Home | News | Downloads | Projects | Articles | Awards | Forums | Chat | Guestbook | About | Arcade
InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
Join the millions that use us for their forum communities. Create your own forum today.
Learn More · Register Now



Forum Topics Replies Last Post Info
Older topics
Here you can access all topics posted from May 12th 2005 to Apr 9th 2006 (In read only mode).
1126 15694 9 Apr, 2006, 11:06
In: Last Post[GAME]Learn how to count to...
By: DJ Omnimaga
 

Pages: (7) [1] 2 3 ... Last » ( Go to first unread post ) post

 another RPG, in the works...
xiaden
Posted: 12 Oct, 2007, 10:42


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 41
Member No.: 3147
Joined: 9 Oct, 2007



Renamed to Thetaman(or yourname, if you can design sprites for me.)

Current progress is:
CODE

Fighting: † † ||||| † Shell complete, basic monsters scripted, no graphical app.
Walking: † † †|||| † †Shell near complete, maps are minimal, and speed is a little slow for my likeing.
Interactions: || † † †Shells done, and implimentation is minimal, no item pickups yet...
Shopping: † † | † † † Still just an Idea
Equiping: † † ||| † † if you had something to equip, you could equip it. †unfortunatally, theres only one item.
Overall: † † †|| † † †It's working. †a bit behind schedual, but working none the less


Current needs are:
CODE

>Graphical designing, for fighting screen(i'm working on that)

>Sprites for fighting, and map. †make sure that the first sprite on the first spritemap is blank. †thats deeply coded into the game.

>Items, lots of them.

>Eqipment, lots of it

>debugging the map screen. it's broken, check near the last post.


This post has been edited by xiaden on 8 Nov, 2007, 12:39
Top
DJ Omnimaga
Posted: 12 Oct, 2007, 18:30


Ragol666


Group: Founder
Posts: 11283
Member No.: 1
Joined: 9 Apr, 2006



Welcome here!

I,m glad to see a new RPG in the works. For a damage formula I usually go this way:

((LV*Weapon Atk)+Randint(0,2*LV))/(enemy LV/10)

Of course if you plan to have a default atk/defense different than the level then change LV to Attack and enemy LV to defense. Usually this make defense play a bigger role in the game.


--------------------
user posted image
Join us on IRC on #omnimaga at irc://unitedti.org!
user posted image
Top
Liazon
Posted: 13 Oct, 2007, 18:16


Staff


Group: Coders Of Tomorrow
Posts: 1491
Member No.: 24
Joined: 11 Apr, 2006



Welcome to Omnimaga!

it's good to see more RPGs, since Omni was originally an RPG HQ.

duno much about basic, but good luck w/ your rpg!



--------------------
Projects: In need of sprites...
Top
Delnar_Ersike
Posted: 13 Oct, 2007, 23:52


Lazy, procrastinating h4xx0r of doom


Group: Members
Posts: 587
Member No.: 283
Joined: 27 Dec, 2006



Welcome to the crazy world of Omnimaga! Here are your peanuts:
user posted image
As for knowing a lot about BASIC, I am positive you still have stuff to learn from some of us. wink.gif


--------------------
user posted image

Current Projects:
-Learning 83+ assembly (10%)
-Setting up calc84maniac's on-calc assembler (postponed)
-Working on a secret project (5%)

Working on...
-Learning 83+ assembly: On Day 7 in Learn ASM in 28 Days and still trying to get over my lazy streak
-Setting up the on-calc assembler: Decided it is better to code assembly on a computer
-Secret project: planning how I will make it, waiting for summer
Top
xiaden
Posted: 15 Oct, 2007, 11:41


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 41
Member No.: 3147
Joined: 9 Oct, 2007



Hey all =) thanks for the warm welcome.

I have an update, and another problem.
Right now the project is fragmented a little. It's got the pet name that all my ACSII mapped games get, theta man. But Iím stuck in the middle of the tutorial, and the battle conclusion menu, and the Item system is still completely inexistent, except an item or two that I might just get rid of completely (a revival medicine, that auto revives you at half (soon to be quarter) hp). I'm going to see if I can post the programs on Tuesday, or Thursday night at latest.


Thetamans formally in beta (0.1) but the mapping system is in near final, with way cleaned up code. Itís ultra fast now, loading the next map almost the same speed that humans blink at. Also, I had a friend play for about two hours on his calculator, and the speed was only minimally slower (about half a second to a second) which I found was really weird. Considering the vast amount of variables being written, and output strings that fill the whole screen... usually it slows down really fast. Maybe its just because it's semi-small still.

The setups still in subroutines, named accordingly:

Game (theta) - actual run file. If this isn't what you run, then you can only do what is left from the last game, and it exits on ending the task =P
Help (theta)
(Theta) field
(Theta) fight
(Theta) map
(Theta) roots








QUOTE
Welcome here!

Iím glad to see a new RPG in the works. For a damage formula I usually go this way:

((LV*Weapon Atk)+Randint(0,2*LV))/(enemy LV/10)

Of course if you plan to have a default atk/defense different than the level then change LV to Attack and enemy LV to defense. Usually this make defense play a bigger role in the game.


Iíll have to test that out, it sounds really useful. Thanks for the help.

more later =)
Top
DJ Omnimaga
Posted: 15 Oct, 2007, 12:45


Ragol666


Group: Founder
Posts: 11283
Member No.: 1
Joined: 9 Apr, 2006



I'm glad this is progressing, keep up the good work again smile.gif

Any chance of a screenshot soon?


--------------------
user posted image
Join us on IRC on #omnimaga at irc://unitedti.org!
user posted image
Top
xiaden
Posted: 16 Oct, 2007, 10:58


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 41
Member No.: 3147
Joined: 9 Oct, 2007



screenshot coming asap =P i'm still working on how the menus should look. it's a very fragmented project. =P i put the help file on hold till the rest is finished.
Top
DJ Omnimaga
Posted: 16 Oct, 2007, 14:52


Ragol666


Group: Founder
Posts: 11283
Member No.: 1
Joined: 9 Apr, 2006



I would keep help file for the end and I would make it in readme form, not on calc. Or at least if it's gonna be on calc I would make it optional for the user, for people who want more space on their calc.

Usually when I did RPGs I started finding storyline chronology ideas and written them down, then started coding menu, then battle engine, then title screen with start/load screen, map engine, then finally imnplement events/triggers/storyline in the game as well as new enemies and bosses


--------------------
user posted image
Join us on IRC on #omnimaga at irc://unitedti.org!
user posted image
Top
xiaden
Posted: 16 Oct, 2007, 18:45


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 41
Member No.: 3147
Joined: 9 Oct, 2007



huh. well, i already have the storyline mapped out, just not hard coded at all =P and what i have done right now is:
(O=(theta))
gameO-Everything but the bootscreen
helpO-just up to the movement and menu section.
Ofeild-Four of the basic maptypes, and six screens total(not a very big world)
Ofight-Attacking completed beyond beleif. defending? no. magic? no. item use? not even started. run away? yep =P
Oitems-just tels you it's under development. then exits.
Omap- Near completion. all thats left is to set the event trigger recognition(aka, storyline)

What i'm currentlly working on is:
choosing betwwen defense forms.
setting the item values(potions cure?hp)
setting the maptypes.

I am thinking about just setting this into an assembly mould, with sprites instead of ascii coding. this would be kinda usefull, i could change up the way maps appear.
Top
trevmeister66
Posted: 16 Oct, 2007, 19:10


Post whore


Group: Members
Posts: 532
Member No.: 290
Joined: 8 Jan, 2007



Sounds good. I can't wait to see a screenie and possibly a demo smile.gif


--------------------
~~~~~~~Project Status~~~~~~~
Age of War > .1% < Retransfering Sprites
Baseball > 2% < Menu's

Learning ASM > 10% < Started first game, and have no idea what I'm doing confused.gif


(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.
Top
DJ Omnimaga
Posted: 16 Oct, 2007, 20:05


Ragol666


Group: Founder
Posts: 11283
Member No.: 1
Joined: 9 Apr, 2006



I see you got some progress alerady smile.gif


--------------------
user posted image
Join us on IRC on #omnimaga at irc://unitedti.org!
user posted image
Top
xiaden
  Posted: 17 Oct, 2007, 11:32


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 41
Member No.: 3147
Joined: 9 Oct, 2007



Idea. I'm not smart enough to figure out if this would be better or not.

using:
CODE
Maptypes
If M=4:then
1->P
1->T
end
if T=1:then
"+---  ---+I        II        II        I..." ->STR9
{1,1,1,1,P,P,1,1,1,1,1,0,0,0...} ->Lmap
end

And having tens to hundreds of maps...
or:
CODE

If M=4:then
1->A
0->B
0->c
0->D
1->P
end
if A=1:then
"+---  ---+"->str1
{1,1,1,1,P,P,1,1,1,1,1} ->LM1
end
if A=2:then
...
end...
If B=0
"IIIIII" -> str2
{1,1,1,1,1,1} ->Lm2
end
...
continue for each part

And then peicemealing it out at the end. like taking subs from the wallsand adding the center into it, and such. it's a long formula =] .
the top way uses less variable writes, but has a huge amount of data used(have to make each map tile seperatlly,Ex: one for exit up only, one for exit up and down)

The bottom way uses less phisical memory but slows the game down a little bit quicker.it builds tiles on the fly, and just takes the predefined top left middle right and bottom tiles, and connects them, saves them to one string and list, then erases the temporary ones.

which would you use? fou.gif
Top
DJ Omnimaga
Posted: 17 Oct, 2007, 14:45


Ragol666


Group: Founder
Posts: 11283
Member No.: 1
Joined: 9 Apr, 2006



I would use the one that use less physical memory. How fast does it load maps in overall?


--------------------
user posted image
Join us on IRC on #omnimaga at irc://unitedti.org!
user posted image
Top
trevmeister66
Posted: 17 Oct, 2007, 15:34


Post whore


Group: Members
Posts: 532
Member No.: 290
Joined: 8 Jan, 2007



It depends on how many physical maps you'll need... if it's overwhelming (even archived) then i would think sacrificing a little bit of speed for size wouldn't be a bad trade. Otherwise i would go with the preset maps.


--------------------
~~~~~~~Project Status~~~~~~~
Age of War > .1% < Retransfering Sprites
Baseball > 2% < Menu's

Learning ASM > 10% < Started first game, and have no idea what I'm doing confused.gif


(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.
Top
xiaden
Posted: 18 Oct, 2007, 10:59


Advanced Member


Group: Members
Posts: 41
Member No.: 3147
Joined: 9 Oct, 2007



I don't have a good readout on how fast the smaller version runs, but i'm almost one hundred percent sure that it is about twice as slow(which isn't saying much, because the maps show up lightning quick) it could be quicker, but i forgot a good way to get lists(as in more then one) to form a bigger list effectivly... like augument, but lots. i have it in a for loop right now, but i don't quite like that... it slows the game down quick.
EDIT:
I have it down now. not using a for loop, just a really really really long define list(or whatevery you would call it... it's like:
CODE
{LML(1),LMM(1),LMM(2),LMM(3)...,LMR(1)...}->L(theta)map

and put in a small loading screen, because i hate dead time, where you can't do anything but wait.

Map is upgraded to V0.1, and i'm done with it till next version.

If anyone wants to make some maps, becasue i'm lazy, go for it.
the current tileset allows for:
CODE

on top and bottom, in order of ID from 0(set by var A for top, and Var E for bottom):
+--------+
+---  ---+
+-  -  -+
+-  ----+
+----  -+
::::::::::
::::  ::::
+--------+(hidden exit)

Sides, same idea, vars B=Left D=Right:(turned from vertical to horizontal):
IIIIII
II  II
::::::
::  ::
IIIIII(hidden X-it)

Center(var=C not writing complete code, just idea.):
0=clear
1=square in the center
2=throneroom
3=vertical wall through the center
4=divider(top to right)
5=divider(top to left)

Actually, i lied. maps not done.adding to the tileset. expect the store, housing, bridges, inside housing, Inns, and mountains(aka mazes)
Most likely:-1:store(outside)
-2store(inside)
-3 inn
-4 inn(inside)
rest will be hard to predict. i'm trying to keep the programs light on memory, so the rest might jsut be different archive call programs. in fact i might just make each location a different tileset once i get into it =P

This post has been edited by xiaden on 19 Oct, 2007, 11:36
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
DealsFor.me - The best sales, coupons, and discounts for you

Topic OptionsPages: (7) [1] 2 3 ... Last » post





TI-Freakware's TI Ring
TI-Freakware's TI Ring
[ Join Now | Ring Hub | Random | << Prev | Next >> ]

Hosted for free by InvisionFree* (Terms of Use: Updated 2/10/2010) | Powered by Invision Power Board v1.3 Final © 2003 IPS, Inc.
Page creation time: 0.1562 seconds | Archive

Skin by xlibman and Jc
All programs and games are property of their respective owners.